Set User Security Permissions

In this topic, you will learn about security groups and assigning security permissions to groups.

What are Security Groups?

Insight lets you create and mange multiple security groups. Each security group has assigned permissions to View or Edit information in different areas of the system. You can use security groups to hide areas of the software from a group. Users are assigned to an appropriate security group.

There are separate security permissions for access to reporting and viewing of clinic schedules and information.

Creating a Security Group

Use the following procedure in either Insight EMR or Insight Billing to create a new security group.

  1. From the Security menu, select Security Group Permissions. The Add/Edit Group Permissions dialog box appears.


  2. Create a new security group using one of the following methods.
    • Click New to create a group with default permissions, or
    • Click the Security Group arrow to display a list of security groups. Select the desired security group and click Copy to create a group with permissions initially copies from the selected group.
  3. Enter the name you want to give the new security group.



  4. Click OK. The Enter Group Name dialog box closes and the new security group appears in the Security Group list. You can then set permissions for members of this security group.
  5. Click OK to save your changes and close the Add/Edit Group Permissions dialog.

Deleting a Security Group

To delete an existing security group from the Add/Edit Group Permissions dialog:

  1. Select the security group to delete from the Security Group list.
  2. Click Delete.

    Note: If there are users currently assigned to the security group, the Merge User prompt displays. You will need to select another security group to assign those users to before you are allowed to perform the delete.

  3. Click Yes to confirm you would like to delete the selected security group.

Renaming a Security Group

To rename an existing security group in the Add/Edit Group Permissions dialog:

  1. Select the security group to rename from the Security Group list.
  2. Click Rename. The Enter New Group Name prompt displays.
  3. Enter the new group name and click OK.
    A warning message appears if you enter a security group that already exists.

Setting Security Group Permissions

Use the following procedure in Insight EMR to set the permissions for a security group.

  1. From the Security menu, select Security Group Permissions. The Add/Edit Group Permissions dialog box appears.
  2. Click the Security Group arrow to display a list of security groups. Select the name of the security group whose permissions you want to examine or set.

    The permissions for the selected group appear in the list below. These individual permissions are described later in this topic.

    For each type of permission, you can set the access to that feature for the selected security group to one of these options:
    • Hide, which prevents members of the selected group from seeing the feature in Insight EMR,
    • View, which permits members of the selected group to see the feature but not make any changes to settings for that feature, or
    • Edit, which permits members of the security group to both see the feature and current settings as well as make any appropriate changes in that feature.
  3. When you finish making any changes to permissions for the selected security group, click Save to save those changes to the system and close the Add/Edit Group Permissions dialog box.

Alert Management

Configuration of thresholds for clinical issues alerts.

  1. From the Run menu, select Clinical Issue Listing.
  2. Click Settings.

Application, Clinic, and Company Settings

Setting Company and Clinic Information, Appointment Settings, and other general settings.

From the Settings menu, select Clinical Settings, as illustrated.

Appointments

The patient schedule.

Billing Rules

Creating and applying payer specific billing rules.

From the Billing menu, select Rules and Change Codes, as illustrated.

Cash Register and Account Display

Cash Register: Applying patient payments.

Cash Register Account Display: Viewing additional information about a patient's account in the Cash Register.

Charge Codes

Adding charge codes and fees.

From the Billing menu, select Rules and Charge Codes, as illustrated.

Chart Tab

Chart Tab Visible: Ability to view clinical documentation.

Charting: Ability to create and sign off on clinical documentation.

Chart Template Editing

Ability to configure pre-formatted documentation forms for use in charting.

Clients

Patient look up and registration.

Contacts

Demographic information for physicians and other referral sources.

Fee Schedule Administration

Creating and applying charges and expected reimbursement for insurance plans.

Import Utility

Available only to Clinicient Support. Used to import information from legacy systems for new customers.

Insight Billing

Access to the billing application.

Intake Form Management

Configuration of the Intake form used for patient registration.

Letter Template Management

Configuration of form letter templates:

Merge Utility

Used to merge duplicate records.

Patient Setup Logo Management

Configuration of logos on patient statements.

Payers

Insurance and other payer setup.

Period Close Deletion

Special permission to delete already saved period close information.

Print Layout Management

Configuration of clinical documentation report layout.

Program Types

Used for tracking marketing and PR programs.

Reprocess Documentation Charges

Reprocessing charges aggregated from documentation after a correction in the patient's payer or a billing rule.

Report Analysis Access

Gives user the ability to use the report analytics tool.

Reports: Manage Public Favorites

Controlling administrative and management report access.

Schedule Column Order Setup

Setting a standard schedule column order for a clinic.

Supplies and Fees

Set up for supplies and other non treatment fees that may be charged to a patient.

Tasks

Ability to process, create and assign tasks to other people in your organization.

Topic Editor

Topic Editor 1 - Activate/Inactivate Items: User can activate or inactivate existing documentation items in the documentation topic library.

Topic Editor 2 - Assign Items to Multiple Topics: Allows user to assign a documentation item, or groups of items, to multiple topics.

Topic Editor 3 - Full Permissions: Full permission to create, delete, and re organize documentation topics.

Trading Partner Administration

Used by Clinicient Support for clearinghouse setup.

Verify Benefits

Exposes a check box used to indicate whether or not insurance benefits have been verified.

Write Off Patient Charges

Adjust charges for a selected patient and visit.

Related Links:

Define Password Parameters

Click here to move×