Remove a Therapist from the Schedule

When a therapist is no longer working at the clinic, you will need to remove them from the schedule. Use the steps below to manually remove the therapist's schedule from the Schedule Editor and mark the therapist as inactive.

Check to See if the Therapist is Active

  1. Use the icon, the F6 key, or go to the Edit menu and select Staff to open the Add/Edit Staff window.
  2. Use the drop down arrow to find the therapist that needs to be removed from the schedule.
  3. Confirm that the Active check box is selected. If it is not selected, this means the therapist is inactive. You need to temporarily set the therapist to Active and make sure the Show in Schedule check box is selected. The Show in Schedule option allows the therapist's name to be visible in the Schedule Editor, not the actual schedule. Therapists are always visible on the schedule if they have time scheduled on the clinic's calendar.

Manually Remove the Therapist's Schedule from the Clinic's Calendar.

  1. Use the icon, the F5 key, or go to the Edit menu and select Schedules to open the Set Staff Schedules window. The schedule opens and is defaulted to the current week.
  2. Select the clinic and therapist.
  3. If there is a lunch break schedule, right-click on it for the first day of the week (Monday) and select Delete Selected. If there is no lunch break scheduled, select the therapist's available time, right click and select Delete Selected.
  4. Once Monday is blank, right-click and select Copy Selected Day and then All Days. Now all days for the week are blank.
  5. Use the Copy To These Dates fields and set a Start Date the therapist should not be on the schedule. Set the End Date to a date a couple months in the future. Select Copy Schedule.

This removes the therapist from the schedule. If there are any appointments on the schedule, a warning message displays indicating how many scheduled appointments have been removed from the therapist's calendar and have no therapist currently assigned. A white 15 minute block of time is added to each of these days at noon, as a place holder to remind you to reschedule these appointments. From the Schedule tab, select the Conflicts subtab to see which appointments need to be deleted and recreated and assigned to a different therapist.

Once the appointments have been reassigned, remove all of the placeholders by right-clicking on each and selecting Delete.

Set the Therapist to Inactive

  1. Use the icon, the F6 key, or go to the Edit menu and select Staff to open the Add/Edit Staff window.
  2. Use the drop down arrow to find the therapist that needs to be removed from the schedule.
  3. Remove the check mark in the Active and Show in Schedule check box.

Related Topics:

Set Therapist Schedule

Click here to move×