Manually Add, Edit, or Delete a Charge

There may be some cases when you will need to manually add a charge to be billed to insurance or passed directly to the patient. Important things to consider when manually adding a charge:

  • You should only manually add charges that do not require a caregiver's sign off.
  • If a charge is added to the claim after the payer has already submitted payment, many payers will cancel the entire original payment. Some payers will process the original claim and the added charge at the same time. This can impact how quickly your clinic receives the payment from the payer.

To manually add a charge, follow the instructions below.

  1. Log in to Insight Billing.
  2. From the Charges tab, click Add. The Enter Charges dialog box displays.
  3. Select a Patient.
  4. Select the Case. If the patient only has one case, it automatically displays when the patient is selected.
  5. Leave the Appointment field blank.
  6. Optional: Select the Place of Service. This field is only visible if your clinic's Place of Service system property is turned on.
  7. Click Add and enter charge details such as CPT Code, Modifier, Units, Amount, Notes and whether or not to pass the charge to the patient. The diagnosis code automatically displays based on the case selected.
  8. Click Save.
  9. Click Close to return to the Charges tab.

Tip: Clinicient recommends using the Cash Register to bill out any fees or supplies that need to be passed directly to the patient.

Note: Only clinic employees assigned to a security group with charge codes set to edit may perform this task.

To modify or update a charge, follow the instructions below.

  1. Log in to Insight Billing.
  2. Select the specific charge to modify from the Charges tab.
  3. Click the green icon in the Chg column to open the Enter Charges window.
  4. Edit the charge information as needed.
  5. Click Save to close the window and return to the Charges tab.

There may be some cases when you will need to delete a charge. A few reasons that may require you to void a charge include the therapist updating documentation or billing rules were set incorrectly or are out-of-date. Do not delete a charge after a payer has already submitted payment for a claim.

To delete a charge, follow the instructions below.

  1. Log in to INSIGHT Billing.
  2. Select the specific charge to delete from the Charges tab.
  3. Click Delete, and then Yes to confirm the delete or No to return to the Charges tab without deleting the selected charge. Or right click the selected charge and select Void Charge.

If you unintentionally void a charge that you need to keep, use the steps below to reprocess the charges.

To reprocess charges, follow the instructions below.

  1. Log in to Insight Billing.
  2. Use the Client icon or press F9 to open the Client Editor.
  3. From the Personal Information tab, right click the appointment that needs charges to be reprocessed.
  4. Select Re-Process Charges for Selected Appointments. Note that you can only reprocess appointments for signed visits.
  5. Select Refresh on the Charges tab.
Click here to move×